EDCL emerge as victors in Sovereign Cup

The Elliott Davis Cricket League (EDCL) 1st XI were crowned Sovereign Cup champions after defeating the Kent Cricket League 1st XI.

EDCL advanced through the first round of the competition with a convincing seven-wicket win over Hertfordshire. Their round two fixture against the British Tamils Cricket League was closer, but EDCL fought their way to a two-wicket triumph and advanced to the semi-finals where they faced the Essex League XI. EDCL saw off their opponents by five wickets to book their place in the final.

Kent batted first and got off to a steady start with openers Buzz Gould and Leigh Walker. Gould scored a rapid 25 from just 15 deliveries with five boundaries. Walker went along at a slower pace, building up an innings of 26 runs off 47.

Stu Drakely came in to replace Gould and bashed two fours and two sixes on his way to 22 runs. Both Walker and Drakely were dismissed by Bilal Butt, but Kent still continued to score steadily with Liam Tegg and Max Campbell.

Campbell added 32 runs to the scoreboard, but after he and Tegg were sent back to the pavilion, Kent could not get another partnership started and were bowled all out for 180 after 39.2 overs. Mohammad Fayyaz Khan was the pick of the EDCL bowlers as he took 5 for 24 runs.

EDCL opener Hamza Qayyum had an identical innings to his Kent counterpart, scoring 25 off 15 with five fours. Nasnian Ali acquired 32 runs before he lost his wicket LBW to Fred Foster.

Mohammad Akhtar came in first wicket and gave his side’s run chase a massive boost, reaching 63 runs with 10 boundaries.

Ahmed Khawaja and Shaftab Khalid also found their way into double figures, with Khawaja scoring 19 and Khalid making his way to 15 not out.

EDCL chased down their target in 37.4 overs for a four-wicket win and took home the Sovereign Cup title.

Author: Don McDermott

Share your views - post your comments below:

Will be displayed

Will not be displayed


More Stories

Apycom jQuery Menus